About AAIC

AAIC mdOur Mission: To support and promote avalanche forecasts, education, research, professional development, and networking of practitioners in the pursuit of healthy lifestyles and the reduction of unintentional injury and death. Please see AAIC Missionandgoals (.pdf)

The AAIC was founded in 2008 by a group of concerned citizens and earned 501 c3 Non-Profit status in December 2010. The organization currently supports five independent avalanche forecast centers in Alaska.

The organization was formed by an all volunteer team.  The organization takes pride in maintaining the highest standards in avalanche forecasting, educating and safety in the United States.  Our standards conform to guidelines set forth by the American Avalanche Association (AAA) and the American Institute for Avalanche Research and Education (AIARE.)

The all volunteer governing body 2018Board list (.pdf) is a team of dedicated professionals.  The organization operates thanks to the consistent effort of our Staff, tireless support from our many esteemed Volunteers, Members, Contributors  and through consistent and generous donations from our Supporters.

AAIC’s current Executive Director is Debra McGhan.

If you would like other assistance, please contact us.

Our Board of Directors

Sean Wisner

Board President

Valdez Avalanche Center Rescue Liaison

Open Seat

At-Large Director

Seeking qualified candidates

Mark Oldmixon

Board Treasurer

Director of Eastern Alaska Regional Avalanche Center, Instructor

Katreen Wikstrom Jones

Board Secretary

Eastern Alaska Regional Avalanche Center

Steve 'Hoots' Witsoe

Forecasting Director

Director of Cordova Avalanche Center, Forecaster

Ralph Baldwin

Director At Large

(Acting Vice President)

Leslie Cromwell

AAIC Statewide Representative

Director At-Large

Rich Loftin

Alaska Avalanche Information Center

Director At-Large

Eric Geisler

AAIC Statewide Representative

Director at Large

Debra McGhan

Alaska Avalanche Information Center

Executive Director

Center Directors

Cordova Center Director

Steve 'Hoots' Witsoe

Eastern Alaska Center Director

Haines Center Director

Hatcher Pass Center Director

Valdez Center Director